I continue to work

I have finished the first rewrite of my new fantasy novel…I am about to go back through it and try to improve the flow of things.

About stanleythorntonbooks

The Beatles, the assassination of President John F. Kennedy, and the first man to step foot on the moon. I watched solemnly as John F. Kennedy's funeral was aired live on television, November 25, 1963. I watched the Beatles on the Ed Sullivan show, Feb. 9, 1964. I sat on the floor in front of the TV and watched Neil Armstrong take that first step on the moon, July 20, 1969. I didn't just read about them, I lived them. In the summer of 1966, my neighbor, Ricky Brady, who lived behind me and I were watching Batman the TV series one day. Before the show ended I had come up with such a wonderful idea. His parents had a large closed in patio in the backyard. We moved his record player to the patio and played records. We charged admission and sold kool-aid for a nickle a glass. So, I can honestly say we invented the disco. I guess my writing career began around about 2nd grade. The teacher gave each of us a picture and we had to write a story about the picture. My picture was of a dog that looked like the Our Gang dog, white with a patch of black over one eye. I wrote a whole page about how the dog got his black eye. At the age of 12, I began writing poetry; however, most of those poems did not survive the years. I also wrote my first play about this time, but I must admit that as I got older and realized how bad it really was, I am glad it is lost forever. Also, about this time, I owned an old LP by The Ventures. Since they were an instrumental band, there were no words to their songs. I liked one song they played, When She Walked in the Room, so I wrote my own lyrics, not realizing there were already lyrics. Since then, I have found that I enjoyed writing lyrics as much as poetry; however, since I don't play a musical instrument, I've never gotten produced complete songs. I released my first book, Christianity: Myths and Legends (non-fiction) in November 2010. I released my first fantasy novel, He Walks with Dragons (first in a series) in April 2013. The second book in the He Walks with Dragons series should be released in the first few months of 2014. As I have a number of other projects in different phases of completion, I should be adding other books to this list in the new future.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment